Oklahoma Statewide Shared Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Facility

The Oklahoma Statewide Shared Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Facility provides a diverse array of magnetic resonance research capabilities for routine and advanced analysis of both solution and solid-state samples.

The facility is home to five spectrometers, two with 400 MHz magnets mainly for acquisition of spectra of liquid-state samples, one dedicated 300 MHz solid-state spectrometer, one 600 MHz spectrometer outfitted for both liquids and solids, and one 800 MHz spectrometer with cryoprobe.

The N800 with 24-sample changer provides very high sensitivity detection of 1H and 13C in liquid-state samples, specializing in multidimensional biomolecular NMR and also providing for direct 13C acquisition.

On the A400, a sample changer allows for walk-up solution state analysis of 1H, 13C, 31P, and 19F as well as advanced techniques. On the A400, N600, and I400 multi-use probes (SmartProbe, OneNMR Probe) designed for both direct and indirect detection permit a variety of 2D techniques for molecular structure determination (e.g. COSY, NOESY, HSQC, HMBC, TOCSY) of molecules in solution.

Instruments in the facility are available to all academic, research, or commercial users. The facility is located in the Department of Chemistry, Physical Science Building.

Funds for the Oklahoma Statewide Shared NMR Facility equipment and facilities obtained in 1996/1997 were provided by the National Science Foundation, EPSCoR, the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, the W.M. Keck Foundation, and Conoco, Inc. The Avance 400 spectrometer, installed in 2013, was purchased with a grant from the OSU Vice President for Research, who has also generously supported several vital upgrades over the years. Funds for the Neo 800 installed in 2020 were provided by the National Science Foundation, with generous matches and support from within OSU including from the Office of the Vice President for Research, College of Arts and Sciences, Chemistry Department, and Regents Professor Andrew Mort.